PHS Indoor Guard Recognized For Atlantic Coast Championship

By Melanie Zayas, AAP Intern

At the June public meeting for Pennsauken’s Township Committee, Mayor Rick Taylor recognized Pennsauken High School’s Indoor Guard with a proclamation for winning the Tournament Indoor Association (TIA) Atlantic Coast Championship, held at the Wildwood Convention Center in early May. Pennsauken’s Indoor Scholastic Open Drum Line, Indoor Scholastic A Guard, and the Indoor Independent Intermediate Guard competed at the mammoth event, which showcases over 250 participating groups from all along the East Coast.

“During the four-month long season, all three groups were undefeated leading up to the TIA Championship. The four-day event culminated in all three Pennsauken groups winning first place for the first time in TIA history, which is an incredible honor,” says Mayor Taylor, who read the proclamation to all those who attended. “This is clearly a testament to your aptitude and also to the amazing vision of Nick Denofa, Pennsauken’s band director.”

Pennsauken gave its best regards to the indoor guard champions for representing the community in an outstanding manner, in addition to showcasing their talent with high standards of commitment. Mayor Taylor, along with members of the Township Committee, took time after the proclamation was read to thank the indoor guard champions for their great accomplishments.

The members of the PHS 2015 Indoor Guard are: Nicole Alfano, Sam Baez, Jalyssa Cruz, Alyssa Edleman, Emily Gairo, Jada Gilbert, Kyla Green, Vivian Huynh, Andre Lopez, Jasmine Magalong, Cynthia Malo, Janelle Moore, Kiara Munoz, Taylor Niche, Jimmy Nguyen, Serene Quick, Lizmarie Reyes, Bria Rowland, Jessica Tran, Kelly Van, Jackie Vazquez, Aailya Ware, and Bri-ann Wright. The members of the PHS 2015 Indoor Drum Line are: Carlos Acevedo, David Anyanwyu, Issac Amato, Ryan Arce, Devon Arthur, Nik Alvelo, Robert Auli, Danny Ball, Brandon Bulicki, Christian Cerrato, Obi Chukwuocha, Angel Cruz, Travis Davis, Jude Dixon, Vladimir Fernandez, Tyler Gairo, Adam Gillis, Emily Gmyr, Richard Huynh, Ryan Lam, John Laporte, Cindy Le, Andrew Lebron, Skylar Leshnov, Jennifer Lu, Stephan Miller, Jamil Morris, Tiffany Nguyen, Christian Nicado, Wilmer Novas-Reyes, Schina Phan, Deshawn Pressley, Eva Ray, Mario Sagliocca, Dennis Tran, and Steven Williams.

Translate »